[Mixtape] The Hood Internet: “The Mixtape Volume Seven”

Somehow, The Hood Internet’s latest mixtape, The Mixtape Volume Seven, slid past us. The new collection of mashups by the Chicago production duo features 25 tracks mixing up a plethora of artists, including Justin Timberlake, Daft Punk, Danny Brown, Chance the Rapper, Action Bronson, Frank Ocean, and Purity Ring. For those unfamiliar with The Hood Internet, they mix and mash hip hop/R&B tracks with songs from Indie Rock bands, resulting in an insanely catchy and infectious number of songs.

Some personal favorites from The Mixtape Volume Seven include “Grown Up Has No Trigger” (Danny Brown X Dirty Projectors), “Double Talm” (Chance the Rapper X Girl Unit), “Lucky Suit” (Justin Timberlake X Jay-Z X Daft Punk), and “Pyramidspeak” (Purity Ring X Frank Ocean). Keep in mind: This is all coming from somebody who doesn’t really like dance music; The Hood Internet is that good.

You can stream the mixtape below or download it here.

Tour Dates

Thu. 05-16-13           Lincoln, NE                Bourbon Theatre
Fri. 05-17-13             Denver CO                Bluebird Theater
Sat. 05-18-13            Salt Lake City UT      Urban Lounge
Mon. 05-20-13          Seattle WA                Neumos
Tue. 05-21-13           Portland OR              Hawthorne Theater

Fri. 05-24-13             San Francisco CA     The Fillmore
Sat. 05-25-13           Los Angeles CA         Echoplex
Sun. 05-26-13          Phoenix AZ                The Crescent Ballroom
Tue. 05-28-13          Austin TX                   The Mohawk
Wed. 05-29-13         Houston TX                Fitzgerald’s
Thu. 05-30-13          New Orleans LA         One Eyed Jack’s
Fri. 05-31-13             Atlanta GA                Masquerade (Hell Stage)
Sat. 06-01-13           Asheville NC              Orange Peel

Geoff Henao

Geoff Henao is a writer/kinda photographer affiliated with the Chicago collective LOD. His interests include film, punk rock, cute girls, graphic novels, video games, and the Chicago Bulls. He's funny sometimes.

Leave a Reply